University of Houston Z Clear Lake

Academic Council Meeting Thursday, May 18, 2023 2:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m. **Zoom** Minutes

Dr. Kathryn Matthew, Vice Provost

Approval of April 20, 2023 Minutes – Minutes were unanimously approved.

A. Items

1. **Promotion and Tenure Policy** - Neal Dugre thanked Heather Kanenberg for her contribution. The policy is result of series of proposed edits that address a number of procedural issues found since adopting the new P & T policy. Some issues the revisions addressed were the handling of conflicts of interest, clarification about the length of time and rank for promotion to full professor, clarification on kind of language that evaluator reports should include, early tenure requests that fail to earn tenure, and the formation of the Peer Review committee.

Motion to approve the policy as written was approved. Item will move to University Council.

2. **Proposal to Close Diplomacy Institute, Effective September 1, 2023:** Diplomacy Institute funded by 3 year pro forma was reviewed and found to not be sustainable/self-supporting. Gigi Do, AVP Global Learning and Strategy/SIO, added that since the MOU was for 3 years with a renewal basis, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MOFA) should be sent a written notice of the MOU's suspension. She stated plans are in place to transition the MOU to CUNY as a courtesy from UHCL. She will draft a notice to MOFA and provide to the Provost for approval/revision before he forwards to the President for signing. Once signed the document will be sent to MOFA. She emphasized she would like the online diplomat classes through GLS to continue and mentioned current faculty involvement.

Motion to close the Diplomacy Institute was approved with two abstentions. Item will move to University Council.

3. Proposal to close IHAPS - Effective September 1, 2023: Kathryn Matthew explained that a decision to close the institute was made after the departure of Megan Topham, Executive Director. The institute was found to not be sustainable after the 3-year period specified. Two remaining students were moved to other university positions to complete their assignment term through May.

Motion to close the IHAP Institute was approved with two abstentions. Item will move to University Council.



B. Discussion

Grades are due from faculty to the Deans on Friday, 5/18 at noon. Website states 5pm, this time represents the deadlines for Deans to submit college grades to the Registrar.

Guests

•

Next Meeting September 2023

ACADEMIC COUNCIL 2022-2023		DATE:	5-18-23 Z	OOM	
Title	M	Member		Alternate	
Senior V.P. for Academic Affairs & Provost (Chair)	Christopher	Maynard	Kathryn	Matthew	
Vice Provost	Kathryn	Matthew	Pam	Shefman	
AVP - Student Success and Initiatives	Tim	Richardson	Maria	Ramos	
Council of Professors	Christine	Kovic	Laurie	Weaver	
Council of Chairs	Lisa	Gossett			
Dean - COB	Ed	Waller	Troy	Voelker	
Dean - HSH	Glenn	Sanford	Mary	Short	
Dean - CSE	Miguel	Gonzalez	David	Garrison	
Dean - COE	Joan	Pedro	Terry	Shepherd	
Snr Assoc VP - OIT/CIO	LeeBrian	Gaskins	Lee	Hilyer	
AVP Global Learning and Strategy/Diplomacy Inst.	Gigi	Do	Edmund	Herod	
FSEC - Senator At Large (COB)	Kathleen	Garland	Dorothy	Kirkman	
FSEC - Chair, Budget & Facilities (CSE)	Amber	Brown	Leroy	Robinson	
FSEC - Chair, Curriculum (COE)	Renee	Lastrapes			
FSEC - Chair, Faculty Life (HSH)	Neal	Dugre	Larry	Rohde	
FSEC - Chair, Teaching & Research (CSE)	Gene	Shan	Preeti	Jain	
FSEC - Past President (COE)	Paul	Withey	Yvette	Bendeck	
FSEC - President (HSH)	Christine	Walther	Isabell	Kusters	
FSEC - President-Elect (COB)	Steven	Cotten			
FAAF Provost Office	Heather	Kanenberg			
Guest:		•			
Secretariat: Charise Armstrong x 3004	60% Quorum		=PRESENT		

