# University of Houston Z Clear Lake

Academic Council Meeting Thursday, October 10, 2024 2:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.

## **Minutes**

## **Dr. Christopher Maynard**

**Approval of September 12, 2024 Minutes** - Minutes were unanimously approved.

#### A. Items

COB Commercialization of Space Graduate Certificate (Attachment-TEAMS)
 Graduate certificate proposed by MBA committee geared toward NASA and was developed with aerospace industry partners directed at business management skills related to commercialization of space.

Motion was made to approve. Motion carried. Item will move to University Council as Information Item.

2. Academic Council Bylaws (Attachment-TEAMS)

Created from text in new shared governance policy.

- Change- SACS to SACSCOC.
- Removed AVP Global Learning and Strategy
- Added- Associate Provost Research and Sponsored Programs.
- Updated AVP Academic Affairs to Vice Provost
- Added non-voting statement: AC is to make recommendations to the Provost, the Provost will not serve as a voting member.
- Removed Course releases for FSEC positions
- Removed- Meeting schedule text

Motion was made to approve. Motion carried. Item will move to University Council as Information Item.



#### **B.** Discussion

UHS Chancellor requested expedited submission of Tuition and Fees by October 12. Provost will meet with Marty Baylor and Georgeann Smith to review culled down list of each college's critical items which include UG DDT requests. These will be reviewed at PBC and Executive Leadership Team on Monday. UHS BOR will vote on these in either November or February. The Provost explained that UHS decisions are pending the Texas Legislatures approval of tuition increases for public state universities.

The Provost provided search updates for the Vice President for Administration and Finance, Vice President for Strategic Enrollment Management and the Associate Provost.

### **Roster Below**

ACADEMIC COUNCIL 2024-25 DATE: 10/10/24				
Title	Member		Alternate	
Senior V.P. for Academic Affairs & Provost (Chair)	Christopher	Maynard	Kathryn	Matthew
Vice Provost	Kathryn	Matthew	Pam	Shefman
AVP - Student Success and Initiatives	Tim	Richardson	Maria	Ramos
Council of Professors	Liwen	Shih	Laurie	Weaver
Council of Chairs	Lisa	Gossett		
Dean - COB	Ed	Waller	Troy	Voelker
Dean - HSH	Glenn	Sanford		Subramanian
Dean - CSE	Jennifer	Irvin	David	Garrison
Dean - COE	Joan	Pedro	Terry	Shepherd
Snr Assoc VP - OIT/CIO	LeeBrian	Gaskins	Lee	Hilyer
FSEC - Senator At Large (COB)	Kathleen	Garland		
FSEC - Chair, Budget & Facilities (HSH)	Neal	Dugre	Gene	Shan
FSEC - Chair, Curriculum (COE)	Sheila	Baker	Becky	Huss-Keeler
FSEC - Chair, Faculty Life (CSE)	Daniel	Imrecke	Roberta	Raymond
FSEC - Chair, Teaching & Research (HSH)	Christine	Walther	Alfredo	Perez-Davila
FSEC - Past President (COB)	Steven	Cotten	Yvette	Bendeck
FSEC - President (COE)	Renée	Lastrapes	Jennifer	Grace
FSEC - President-Elect (COB)	Ivelina	Pavlova-Stout	Anne	Anders
Guest:				
Secretariat: Charise Armstrong x 3004			=PRESENT	

