University of Houston **Z** Clear Lake

Academic Council Meeting Thursday, April 11, 2024 2:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.

MINUTES

Approval of March 31, 2024 Minutes – minutes were unanimously passed.

A. Items

- 1. UHCL ORSP Administration Policy K. Matthew explained the urgency in providing UHS with the policy. G. Shan, Faculty Senate Chair, Teaching and Research confirmed the policy is in committee review, along with UHCL Data Management and Sharing Policy. Vice Provost requested item move through the committee and Faculty Senate in time for May reviews at Academic Council and University Council. Provost stated the item will move to University Council as interim policy, if not presented to Academic Council in time.
- 2. **Summer Workload Policy** Senate President, Steven Cotten states this policy includes an increase in summer pay to 10%, matching our current regular workload policy. It also has compensation equation for faculty performing summer service work.

Friendly amendments

5.0 Summer Teaching Workload and Compensation

The number of students normally required for a course to meet enrollment minimums is set by the dean. Minimum summer course enrollments will be published by college deans via email sent to faculty of their respective colleges. These minimum enrollments will be justified with a description of the number of students needed for the college to offer courses.

7.2.1 Full-Time Summer Service

Compensation for Full-Time Summer Service is normally paid at the monthly salary summer teaching rate based on the employee's 9-month base salary, which will be specified in the offer letter.

Provost will alert Human Resources to strike their Summer Pay Policy for faculty, if policy is the Summer Workload Policy is approved in University Council.



The Provost agreed the summer budget and summer appointment dates could be added to the Academic Calendars for the next academic year. In addition, the salary, cap and minimum could be added to the Summer Form.

Members voted to return the Summer Workload Policy to Faculty Senate with the Friendly Amendments for additional review. Policy will be returned to Academic Council in May.

3. Emeritus and Distinguished Emeritus Policy – Specific enumerated privileges removed and this text remained. Additional privileges may be provided to recipients as available.

Motion made to approve. Motion carried. Policy will move to University Council.

Emeritus Policy – Current policy confers emeriti title to only tenured professor and associate faculty. Emeriti/Emerita Committee will serve as a permanent standing committee of the Faculty Senate. Revisions included addition of NTT faculty: Senior Lecturer Emeritus/Emerita", "Lecturer Emeritus/Emerita", "Clinical Professor Emeritus/Emerita", "Clinical Associate Professor Emeritus/Emerita" and "Clinical Assistant Professor Emeritus/Emerita.

Motion made to approve. Motion carried. Policy will move to University Council.

4. Financial Exigency Policy Faculty Steven Cotten, shared that the policy has minor changes and edits. revised to clarify that time in rank determined faculty seniority. Sentence from UH Policy added: (11.0) Termination of Exigency. The declaration of a financial exigency by the Board of Regents shall be for a specified period of time not to exceed two years, unless extended after compliance with the same procedures as required for the initial declaration of exigency. The Board of Regents may, by majority vote, terminate a financial exigency at any time. However, nothing in this section shall imply that notice of dismissal issued to any individual during a period of declared exigency is automatically withdrawn or otherwise invalid.

Motion made to approve. Motion carried. Policy will move to University Council.

B. Discussion - None

Roster Below



ACADEMIC COUNCIL 2023-2024		DATE: 4/11/24			
Title	M	Member		Alternate	
Senior V.P. for Academic Affairs & Provost (Chair)	Christopher	Maynard	Kathryn	Matthew	
Vice Provost	Kathryn	Matthew	Pam	Shefman	
AVP - Student Success and Initiatives	Tim	Richardson	Maria	Ramos	
Council of Professors	Liwen	Shih	Laurie	Weaver	
Council of Chairs	Lisa	Gossett			
Dean - COB	Ed	Waller	Troy	Voelker	
Dean - HSH	Glenn	Sanford		Subramanian	
Dean - CSE	Robert	Phalen	David	Garrison	
Dean - COE	Joan	Pedro	Terry	Shepherd	
Snr Assoc VP - OIT/CIO	LeeBrian	Gaskins	Lee	Hilyer	
FSEC - Senator At Large (COB)	Kathleen	Garland		,	
FSEC - Chair, Budget & Facilities (COB)	lvelina	Pavlova-Stout			
FSEC - Chair, Curriculum (COE)	Sheila	Baker			
FSEC - Chair, Faculty Life (CSE)	Daniel	Imrecke			
FSEC - Chair, Teaching & Research (CSE)	Gene	Shan			
FSEC - Past President (HSH)	Christine	Walther			
FSEC - President (COB)	Steven	Cotten			
FSEC - President-Elect (COE)	Renée	Lastrapes			
FAAF Provost Office					
Guest:					
Secretariat: Charise Armetrong v 3004	60% Ouorum		=DRESENT		

